A Prayer for Musicians and Artists


Next to the word of God, music deserves the highest praise. The gift of language combined with the gift of song was given to man that he should proclaim the word of God through music. – Martin Luther

This past Sunday, after worship, I approached the altar to collect the offerings because I was asked to help count.  On the altar was Pastor’s book of prayers, but what caught my attention was not the prayer that he read for this particular day, it was the prayer on the opposing page.  As one of our church musicians and one who appreciates the gifts of art and music to the church; this prayer really hit home with me.

I was actually with Cody Hardin at the time and in quietness I stopped dead in my tracks to stare at this prayer, I read it at a deep level, then I took out my phone and snapped a photo of it – much to the surprise of Cody who looked at me with a puzzled look and a furrowed brow.  I simply said to my fellow musician, “look at that prayer!” which also then brought a smile to his face.

So I share this wonderful prayer with you.  It is prayer not only for musicians and artists but for worshipers as well. 

God, our creator, we thank you for giving joy and delight to your Church through those who are skilled in music and the arts.  Lead them to develop more and more the gifts that You have given them, to dedicate their talents to your worship, and to serve your people in humility.  Make us grateful for their efforts, and move us to encourage and support them.  Use them to bring echoes and reflections of your beauty to the ears and eyes of many, that having experienced your beauty, they may also seek your goodness and truth, to the glory of Christ our Lord. 

Amen.

The trumpeters and musicians joined in unison to give praise and thanks to the Lord. Accompanied by trumpets, cymbals and other instruments, the singers raised their voices in praise to the Lord and sang: “He is good; his love endures forever.” Then the temple of the Lord was filled with the cloud, and the priests could not perform their service because of the cloud, for the glory of the Lord filled the temple of God.- 2 Chronicles 5:13-14  

4 thoughts on “A Prayer for Musicians and Artists”

  1. Thank you for sharing this Steve! And, thanks to all the talented Musicians at Messiah for helping to enrich our services and lives with songs of praise.

    Like

Leave a comment